NEEShub services are beginning to be phased out. Please begin using DesignSafe ( Please submit a support ticket ( if you need any assistance.


Support Options

Submit a Support Ticket

You are here: Home

2010 Annual Meeting Recognition

Posted in Announcements

Concrete Column Blind Prediction Contest Winners

PEER and NEES held a blind prediction contest for a full-scale reinforced concrete bridge column which was tested in September 2010 on the NEES Large High-Performance Outdoor Shake Table located at the University of California, San Diego's (UCSD) Englekirk Structural Engineering Center. The bridge column was subjected to increasing intensity of uniaxial earthquake ground motions. The prediction contest compared analytical response “predictions” with those measured during experimental testing.

The contest was open to teams from both the practicing structural engineering community and the academic research community. More than 50 teams registered for the contest and 41 teams submitted complete entries. The contest applicants were asked to predict the global and local response of the specimen to six different earthquake records, including the failure mode, maximum displacement, moment demand, acceleration, shear force, axial force, curvature, strain, residual displacement and several other parameters. Winning submissions from each community (academic research and engineering professional) were recognized and awarded during Quake Summit 2010, the joint annual meeting for NEES and PEER in a special plenary session on the Blind Analysis Contest.

Because the actual loading was determined during the course of the testing based on observed response, the contest featured two parts: pre-test analysis and prediction based on anticipated earthquake loadings, and post-test analysis and prediction using the actual loadings from the experimental test. The analytical column model for the post-test analysis had to be identical with that for the pre-test analysis. The closest predictions to the test results won, based on the posted rules.

Engineering Professional Category Winners:

  • Lawrence Burkett, Rutherford & Chekene, San Francisco, CA, used the program SeismoStruct in conjunction with force-based fiber elements for his winning entry.
  • Bill Tremayne, Holmes Culley, San Francisco, used the program ANSR for his predictions. The column was modeled using 3D beam-column elements with concentrated plastic hinges that exhibit degrading strength and stiffness.
  • Academic Researcher Category Winner:

  • Zhe Qu, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Yokahama, Japan, used the program Abaqus with 2-node linear beam elements having end fiber sections employing special user-defined steel and concrete material property models.
  • In recognition of the many excellent submissions, the judges identified six other entries that are being recognized for their excellence in being able to predict the broad array of response parameters required of the contestants. These Award of Excellence winners are listed alphabetically below, as each predicted some important parameters better than others, but each achieved a superior level of fidelity to the test results.

  • António Arêde, Nélson Vila-Pouca, André Monteiro, Pedro Delgado, and Raimundo Delgado, Researchers from the University of Porto & Instituto Politécnico de Viana do Castelo in Portugal, used the program Seismostruct in conjunction with an Inelastic force-based element.
  • Eric Kelley, Kongsak Pugasap, and Rick Unruh, Engineering Professionals from Parsons Brinckerhoff, Inc. used the program SAP Release 14.1.0 with a Fiber Hinge model.
  • Otton Lara, Carlos Ventura, and Vinicio Suarez, Researchers from Escuela Superior Politécnica del Litoral and Universidad Técnica Particular de Loja in Ecuador and the University of British Columbia in Canada, used OpenSees with a Nonlinear fiber-based Beam-Column Element.
  • Bruce Maison, an Engineering Professional in El Cerrito, California, used PC-ANSR with Fiber-hinge type elements.
  • Rui Pinho, Romain Sousa, Federica Bianchi, and Roberto Nascimbene, Researchers from EUCENTRE in Pavia, Italy used the program Seismostruct with a Displacement-based fiber beam element.
  • Andreas Schellenberg, an Engineering Professional from Rutherford & Chekene in San Francisco, California used OpenSees with a Force-based beam-column element.
  • The judges noted some interesting trends in the results, suggesting that certain types of modeling approaches are better able to predict certain response parameters, while other approaches do better at simulating other parameters. PEER is currently compiling the results of the contest and a final report will be issued that identifies the trends observed.

    For more information about the contest including the experimental results and data, please visit: Concrete Column Blind Prediction Contest 2010.

    Awards were also presented to the following in appreciation of their efforts during the past year:

  • Outstanding Contribution in Research: The NEESWood Project, John van de Lindt, University of Alabama
  • Outstanding Contributions in Education, Outreach, and Training at Oregon State University and for Outstanding Contribution to the NEES REU Program: Alicia Lyman-Holt, NEES@OSU
  • Best Community Contribution for Innovation in IT for the SingleShot and PEN Tools: Christopher Stanton and Robert Kent, NEES@UTexas; Drew Daugherty, NEES@Minnesota; and Greg Rodgers, Ian Mathew, Tom Hacker, NEEScomm IT
  • Outstanding Success to IT Transition: NEESit Team, SDSC and NEEScomm IT Team, Purdue University
  • Outstanding Contribution in Site Collaborations for the Post Conference Demo for 5th International Geotechnical Earthquake Engineering Conference: NEES@UCLA, NEES@UCSB NEES@U Texas, and NEES@UC San Diego
  • Outstanding Contributions to the NEES Collaboratory: Steve McCabe, retired NEES operations director