NEEShub services are beginning to be phased out. Please begin using DesignSafe ( Please submit a support ticket ( if you need any assistance.


Support Options

Submit a Support Ticket

You are here: Home


Earthquake engineering conference to focus on collaborative research, hybrid simulation

WEST LAFAYETTE, IN – Quake Summit 2013 is the annual meeting for the George E. Brown, Jr. Network for Earthquake Engineering Simulation (NEES). The event will be held from August 7-8 at the University of Nevada, Reno.

Earthquake engineering is a multidisciplinary field dedicated to reducing the physical impact of earthquakes and tsunamis.

Earthquake engineers from around the country will network with colleagues, participate in technical and poster sessions, a hybrid simulation workshop, and a panel discussion on public relations for research engineers. Students from the NEES Research Experience for Undergraduates (REU) program also will present their research and meet professional engineers.

“We cordially welcome earthquake engineers, educators, and engineering students to the 4th annual Quake Summit in Reno. We look forward to learning new ways to conduct tests and model test data,” said Julio Ramirez, PhD, NEES center director. “Our hosts at the University of Nevada, Reno plan to grant tours of their new, $19.6M Large Scale Structures Laboratory, a multiple shake table facility. It should be very exciting.”

What: Quake Summit 2013
When: August 7-8
Where: Reno, Nevada

Find registration and program details at the Quake Summit 2013 website.

About The George E. Brown, Jr. Network for Earthquake Engineering Simulation

The George E. Brown, Jr. Network for Earthquake Engineering Simulation (NEES) is funded by the National Science Foundation (NSF) and tasked to develop improvements and innovations in infrastructure design and construction practices to prevent or minimize damage from earthquakes and tsunamis. Since October 2009, NEES management and cyberinfrastructure operations have been headquartered at Purdue University. NEES Network members include Cornell University; Lehigh University; Oregon State University; Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute; University at Buffalo, SUNY; University of California, Berkeley; University of California, Davis; University of California, Los Angeles; University of California, San Diego; University of California, Santa Barbara; University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign; University of Minnesota; University of Nevada, Reno; and the University of Texas, Austin.


Contact Information:

Marti LaChance
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.