NEEShub services are beginning to be phased out. Please begin using DesignSafe ( Please submit a support ticket ( if you need any assistance.


Support Options

Submit a Support Ticket

You are here: Home

2010 Media Competition

Posted in Announcements

The Annual Meeting Media Competition was developed to visually highlight the innovative research, facilities and education activities that characterize the George E. Brown, Jr. Network for Earthquake Engineering Simulation (NEES). Congratulations to this year's winners!
Contributors to the 2010 Media Competition participated in two categories: Photo and Video. Photo submissions feature an image based on its subject interest, photographic, artistic, and compositional quality. Video submissions clearly and succinctly convey a research outcome, or highlight an activity or facility. Topics for the categories included:


    Photo Favorite - A favorite photo of the contributor's choosing
    Testing - A completed specimen pictured during the testing sequence
    Specimen Construction - Researchers and staff constructing and instrumenting research specimens
    Failure - Structural, geotechnical, or system failure as a consequence of testing


    Outreach - The video has potential to help the general public or the media understand an experiment, the function of a site, or the outcomes of the NEES program
    Educational - The video has potential for use in K-12 or higher education to illustrate a concept
    Technology transfer - The video could be used to support technology transfer to the practicing community

Thank you Media Competition Review Committee for your time and consideration in the difficult task of choosing winners from such fine submissions:
    Thalia Anagnos, San Jose State University
    Robert Bain, San Jose State University
    Charlie Kircher, Kircher & Associates
    Marshall Lew, MACTEC Engineering
    Barbara Cooper, NEEScomm
    Allegra East, NEEScomm
    Jared West, NEEScomm
    Darryl Wong, CUREE

Photo WinnersVideo WinnersPhoto Runners-upVideo Runners-up