NEEShub services are beginning to be phased out. Please begin using DesignSafe ( Please submit a support ticket ( if you need any assistance.


Support Options

Submit a Support Ticket

You are here: Home

NEES’ 2010-2014 Strategic Plan Now Available!

Posted in Announcements



“We are pleased to share with you that the NEES strategic plan was developed using a community-focused strategic planning methodology,” said This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it., NEEScomm center director. “This process was integral in understanding and acknowledging the needs and concerns of stakeholders in order to develop a comprehensive NEES vision. This plan is a living document and we welcome your input to improve it.”

The 2010-2014 Strategic Plan identifies NEES’ mission, its stakeholders, priorities, vision, values, strategic aims and corresponding actions, partnerships, and the critical success factors and key performance metrics.

The strategic aims include: community, research, knowledge transfer, workforce development and public awareness. These key elements plus NEES’ core values of safety, education, data preservation, collaborative community, technology leadership, scientific progress, and diversity are expected to provide a synergy that “accelerates improvements in seismic design and performance by serving as an indispensible collaboratory for discovery and innovation.”

"Members from the various stakeholder groups of the NEES community were vigorously engaged throughout the entire strategic planning process, and we believe that this process has led to a plan that enables all of us to achieve the NEES vision," said Dr. Ramirez. "We referenced the previous history of NEES and evaluated the areas that needed improvement. NEEScomm conducted interviews with key members in the community, and we had members from the various stakeholder groups participate in our strategic planning retreat."

In addition to the engagement of the NEES Governance Board, the NEES Equipment Site Forum, and the NEES Users Forum, the following individuals participated in the development of the strategic plan:

  • George Adams, Purdue University
  • Tom Albrechinski, The State University of New York at Buffalo
  • Thalia Anagnos, San Jose State University
  • Bill Anderson, National Academy of Sciences (retired)
  • Saurabh Bagchi, Purdue University
  • Robert Beckley, University of California – San Diego
  • Arden Bement, Purdue University
  • Sean Brophy, Purdue University
  • Ian Buckle, University of Nevada - Reno
  • Juan Caicedo, University of South Carolina
  • Barbara Cooper, Purdue University
  • Jeremy Diehl, Purdue University
  • Ricardo Dobry, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
  • Shirley Dyke, Purdue University
  • Allegra East, Purdue University
  • Marc Eberhard, University of Washington
  • Rudi Eigenmann, Purdue University
  • Sherif Elfass, University of Nevada - Reno
  • Ken Elwood, University of British Columbia
  • Andre Filiatrault, The State University of New York at Buffalo
  • Barb Fossum, Purdue University
  • Mahmoud Hachem, Skidmore Owings and Merrill- San Francisco
  • Tom Hacker, Purdue University
  • Nancy Healy, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • John Hooper, Magnusson Klemencic Associates
  • Ayhan Irfanoglu, Purdue University
  • Annie Kammerer, Nuclear Regulatory Commission
  • Meagan Kramer, Purdue University
  • Bruce Kutter, University of California- Davis
  • Roberto Leon, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Steven Mahin, University of California- Berkeley
  • Tommy Marullo, Lehigh University
  • Farzad Naeim, John Martin and Associates
  • Scott Newbolds, Purdue University
  • Bob Nigbor, University of California – Los Angeles
  • Gary Novak, Lehigh University
  • Tom O’Rourke, Cornell University
  • Melora Park, Oregon State University
  • Greg Pluta, University of Illinois – Urbana-Champaign
  • Santiago Pujol, Purdue University
  • Julio Ramirez, Purdue University
  • Ellen Rathje, University of Texas - Austin
  • Hank Ratzesberger, University of California – Santa Barbara
  • Glenn Rix, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Chris Rojahn, Applied Technology Council
  • Inthuorn Sasanakul, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
  • Carol Shield, University of Minnesota
  • Dawn Weisman, Purdue University
  • Dan Wilson, University of California - Davis
  • Solomon Yim, Oregon State University
  • Tom Zimmie, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
  • We are deeply in debt and grateful for their valuable contributions! The plan will be reviewed and updated annually in order to meet the evolving needs of the community.

    For more information, visit 2010-2014 Strategic Plan.