NEEShub services are beginning to be phased out. Please begin using DesignSafe ( Please submit a support ticket ( if you need any assistance.


Support Options

Submit a Support Ticket

You are here: Home

Posted in Announcements


Announcing Category Top Finalists


We are proud to announce the top finalists for each category of the NEEShub Contribution Competition.  We had a fantastic response for our first competition and eager to open the polls to determine our winners.  Polls will be available on the NEES Facebook page on March 1st and will be open for votes until March 10th, 2012, 5:00 PM EST.   Category winners will be recognized on NEEShub, at the annual meeting in Boston, July 9-12, 2012 and will have their registration fee waived! 

The Publications category had the most contributions with 20 submissions.  As stated as part of the competition, NEEScomm participated an internal voting poll last week to determine the top finalists.  We had a tie for six submissions, therefore you will see 6 Top Finalists for the Publications category.  

Congratulations to all of our top finalists and a huge THANK YOU to all participants!  All submissions were great contributions!   The following categories and top finalists will be included in the voting polls this week:

Computational Models Top Finalists

  1. Ahmad AlNaseem, 9 Story Building Model
  2. Amin Maghareh, Evaluation of 9-Story Benchmark Building Shear Model
  3. Anthony Friedman, Phenomenological Bouc-Wen Model for 200 kN Large-Scale Magneto-Rheological Fluid (MR) Damper

Historical Documents Top Finalists

  1. Matthew J. Barnes, 6 Story Test Structure Dimensions
  2. Craig Bryant Collins, Cable-Stayed Bridge

Learning Objects Top Finalists

  1. Craig Bryant Collins, SDOF System: Obtaining the Frequency Response Function
  2. Cathy French and Carolyn S. Olson, Earthquakes and Architecture
  3. Cathy French, Leslie Bucar and Dan Johnson, Locating the Epicenter of a Simulated Earthquake by Triangulation
  4. Thomas Frankie, Best Practices in Developing Education, Outreach and Training Videos to Communicate NEES Research Findings

Publications Top Finalists

  1. Brian McFall, Tsunami Generation by 3D Deformable Granular Landslides
  2. Cheng Chen, James Ricles, Theodore Karavasilis, Yunbeyeong Chaie, and Richard Sause, Final Report:  Evaluation of a real-time hybrid simulation system for performance evaluation of structures with rate dependent devices subjected to seismic
  3. Ertugrul Taciroglu, Ambient and Forced Vibration Testing of a Reinforced Concrete Building Before and After its Seismic Retrofitting
  4. Benson Shing, Analytical and Experimental Study of Seismic Performance of Reinforced Concrete Frames Infilled with Masonry Walls
  5. Carlo Citto, Two-Dimensional Interface Model Applied to Masonry Structures
  6. Marc Eberhard and Mete Sozen, Experiments and Analyses to Study the Seismic Response of Reinforced Concrete Frame-Wall Structures with Yielding Columns

Tools Top Finalists

  1. Frank McKenna, OpenSees Developer
  2. Sumudinie Fernando, Scatter Plot and Function Approximation for ACI Publications

Multi Media and News & Highlights Categories
Winner by Default - Brian McFall, Landslide Tsunami Generator 3 - Congrats, Brian!

NEEShub Member Highlights

  1. Mikhail Gershfeld, Professional Practice Professor, California State Polytechnic University, Pomona
  2. Ge Ou, Purdue Ph.D. Student
  3. Aly Mousaad Aly Sayed Ahmed, Post Doctoral Associate, Florida International University

Again, congratulations and good luck!  Spread the word and tell your peers to vote for you! 

Questions? Contact Teresa Morris for more details (765) 496-3014 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.