Support

Support Options

Submit a Support Ticket

 

PEN Quick Start - Deleting Files

by Rachelle Howell, Ian Mathew



Deleting Files

You can delete files that exist locally (blue files), files that exist in the Project Warehouse (grey files), and files that exist both locally and in the Project Warehouse (black files).

Deleting local files (blue files)

To delete a local file (blue file), select the file in the left panel, right click, and select “Delete Local” from the menu.

Delete1.jpg



Deleting Project Warehouse files (grey files)

To delete a Project Warehouse file (grey file), select the file in the left panel, right click, and select “Delete from Warehouse” from the menu.

Delete2.jpg



Deleting files that exist both locally and in the Project Warehouse (black files)

Deleting black files is a two-step process. You have to delete the local copy of the file and the Project Warehouse copy of the file. The order in which you perform the deletions does not matter. You can also choose to keep one copy of the file (i.e., delete the local copy and keep the copy in the Project Warehouse or delete the Warehouse copy and keep the local copy)

Delete3.jpg




Deleting multiple files

You can select and delete multiple files. If you select files with different statuses (i.e., a blue file and a black file), you will be given both delete options – Delete from Warehouse and Delete Local Files. If you choose the Delete from Warehouse option, only those files that are in the Project Warehouse (i.e., the black file) will be affected. If you choose the Delete Local Files option, the blue file will disappear (since it only exists locally) and the black file will turn grey (with the local copy deleted, it now only exists in the Project Warehouse).

Delete6.jpg



Deleting Folders

If you have a folder that contains files, the deletion of the local copy differs from the deletion of the Project Warehouse copy.

You can delete the local copy of the folder and its files by performing a delete on the parent folder.

Delete4.jpg



In order to delete the parent folder from the Project Warehouse, you have to delete the files from the Warehouse first, and then you will be allowed to delete the parent folder. Note that the files only have to be deleted from the Warehouse, you do not have to delete the local copies.

Delete5.jpg



Related Tutorials

Object/file color coding

Created on , Last modified on